Breaking the Ice: A New Dawn for US Arctic Policy

This presentation delves into the evolving significance of the Arctic region, analyzing the U.S. Arctic policy in light of climate change, geopolitical challenges, and indigenous rights. It presents various policy options for U.S. engagement, recommending a balanced, proactive approach.

Published by

 on 

June 3, 2023

Inquiry-driven, this project may reflect personal views, aiming to enrich problem-related discourse.

HeadingHeading 3

Card Title

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet conse adipiscing elit

Card Title

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet conse adipiscing elit

Card Title

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet conse adipiscing elit

Card Title

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet conse adipiscing elit

Support

This presentation delves into the evolving significance of the Arctic region, analyzing the U.S. Arctic policy in light of climate change, geopolitical challenges, and indigenous rights. It presents various policy options for U.S. engagement, recommending a balanced, proactive approach.

"Arctic policy of Norway." Wikipedia, en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arctic_policy_of_Norway. Accessed 3 June 2023.
"Arctic policy of the United States." Wikipedia,
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arctic_policy_of_the_United_States#:~:text=In%201984%2C%20the%20United%20States,climate%20research%20in%20the%20region. Accessed 3 June 2023.
"Finland's Arctic Policy." Arctic Finland, www.arcticfinland.fi/EN/Policy. Accessed 3 June 2023.
"The Implications of U.S. Policy Stagnation toward the Arctic Region." Center for Strategic and International Studies,
www.csis.org/analysis/implications-us-policy-stagnation-toward-arctic-region. Accessed 3 June 2023.
"The Melting Arctic Is a Real-Time Horror Story — Why Doesn't Anyone Care?" Rolling Stone, www.rollingstone.com/politics/politics-news/arctic-ice-melting-716647/. Accessed 3 June
2023.
"New US Arctic Strategy Foreshadows Increasing Hurdles for Cooperation in a More Complex Region." High North News,
www.highnorthnews.com/en/new-us-arctic-strategy-foreshadows-increasing-hurdles-cooperation-more-complex-region. Accessed 3 June 2023.
"The New US Arctic Strategy. Welcome back, America!" Egmont Institute, www.egmontinstitute.be/the-new-us-arctic-strategy-welcome-back-america/. Accessed 3 June 2023.
"Release of the US Arctic Research Commission 2023-2024 Goals Report." Wilson Center,
www.wilsoncenter.org/event/release-us-arctic-research-commission-2023-2024-goals-report. Accessed 3 June 2023.
"Russia in the Arctic—A Critical Examination." Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, carnegieendowment.org/2021/03/29/russia-in-arctic-critical-examination-pub-84181.
Accessed 3 June 2023.
"United Voice of the Arctic." Inuit Circumpolar Council, www.inuitcircumpolar.com/. Accessed 3 June 2023.
"U.S. Arctic Policy." U.S. Department of State, 2001-2009.state.gov/g/oes/ocns/arc/index.htm. Accessed 3 June 2023.
"The U.S. Comes in From the Cold with New Climate-Focused Arctic Strategy." The Arctic Institute, www.thearcticinstitute.org/us-comes-cold-new-climate-focused-arctic-strategy/.
Accessed 3 June 2023.
"U.S. set to open sole diplomatic post above Arctic Circle." The Barents Observer,
thebarentsobserver.com/en/2023/06/us-set-open-sole-diplomatic-post-above-arctic-circle-location-tromso-norway. Accessed 3 June 2023.
"US Wants Mike Sfraga as US' First Arctic Ambassador." High North News, www.highnorthnews.com/en/us-wants-mike-sfraga-us-first-arctic-ambassador. Accessed 3 June 2023.
"What is the Point of Norway's new Arctic Policy?" The Arctic Institute, www.thearcticinstitute.org/point-norway-new-arctic-policy/. Accessed 3 June 2023.
"'Where Is Our Land?': Challenges for Indigenous Groups in the Russian Arctic." The Wilson Center,
www.wilsoncenter.org/blog-post/where-our-land-challenges-for-indigenous-groups-the-russian-arctic. Accessed 3 June 2023.

Connor Cowan

Chief Impact Officer

Connor is a senior in high school from Fairfield, Connecticut and serves as the Chief Impact Officer at the Institute for Youth in Policy. In his role, he oversees all of YIP's impact functions, as well as strategic planning aimed at moving the organization towards its long term goals.

Author's Page